Gaza’s Ark Steering Committee Urges for ‘Hashtag’ Storm to End Gaza’s Siege

desroyed_house

GAZA, August 6, 2014 (WAFA) – Gaza’s Ark Steering Committee and the Freedom Flotilla Coalition, in a joint initiative to end the blockade on Gaza, urged, in a statement on Wednesday, upon activists “to participate in our daily 15 minute Twitter storm to push for the Cairo talks to conclude with an agreement to end the blockade imposed on Gaza.”

“Starting at 12 noon eastern US time (11 AM Central, 9 AM Pacific, 6pm CET), we urge you to participate in our daily 15 minute Twitter storm to push for the Cairo talks to conclude with an agreement to end the blockade of Gaza,” called the statement.

“Even if you can’t join the Twitter storm at 12pm ET – maybe you are in Australia where it will be 2AM! – We urge you to post tweets on ending the Gaza blockade with the hashtag #EndGazaBlockadeInCairo whenever you can, in whatever languages you can,” asserted the GASC.

“Negotiators are meeting in Cairo during the 72-hour Gaza ceasefire, trying to make an agreement for a lasting ceasefire. Palestinians are demanding that a long-term ceasefire permanently end the Israeli-Egyptian economic blockade on 1.8 million Palestinians in Gaza,” said the GASC’s statement.

“This is a crucial moment for opponents of the blockade around the world to raise our voices.”

“We want to raise the profile of the Cairo talks, so that everyone in the world who opposes the blockade understands that the fate of the blockade is being negotiated right now, and does what they can to push political leaders to use their influence to insure that ending the blockade is part of the Cairo agreement.”

“Even U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry has conceded, “Palestinians can’t have a cease-fire in which they think the status quo is going to stay.’ Scott Anderson, deputy director of the U.N. Relief and Works Agency (UNRWA), recently said: “Unless there is material change to the status quo, you’re just resetting the clock for another cycle of violence.”

“That’s why, together with our partners in the Freedom Flotilla Coalition, we are organizing a daily, 15 minute Twitter storm at 12 noon ET until the Cairo talks conclude with an agreement that ends the blockade. We want to make sure that “end the blockade” is at the top of the international agenda for the talks,” the statement concluded.

Source: WAFA