Israel Issues Administrative Detention Orders Against 41 Palestinian Detainees

RAMALLAH, April 21, 2015 (WAFA) – Israeli authorities Tuesday issued administrative detention orders against 41 Palestinian prisoners, including 26 Palestinians from Hebron district, Tuesday reported the Palestine Prisoners’ Club (PPC).

The detainees were sentenced for a period ranging between two months and six months in administrative detention. Twelve of the detainees received detention orders without charge or trial for the first time, whereas the remaining 29 detainees had their administrative detention sentence renewed for the second or third time.

Administrative detention is the imprisonment of Palestinians without charge or trial and on the basis of secret evidence for up to six month periods, indefinitely renewable by Israeli military courts.

The use of administrative detention dates from the “emergency laws” of the British colonial era in Palestine, said the Palestinian Prisoner Solidarity Network.

It stated, “Israel’s use of administrative detention violates international law; such detention is allowed only in individual circumstances that are exceptionally compelling for “imperative reasons of security.”

Israel uses administrative detention routinely as a form of collective punishment and mass detention of Palestinians, and frequently uses administrative detention when it fails to obtain confessions in interrogations of Palestinian detainees.

There are around 500 detainees serving administrative detention in several Israeli jails, including  Palestinian Legislative Council member Khalida Jarrar who has been recently sentenced to a six-month administrative detention.

Jarrar is not the only lawmaker to be imprisoned; 18 of the Palestinian Legislative Council members are currently held in Israeli detention without charge or trial.

Palestinian detainees have continuously resorted to open-ended hunger strikes as a way to protest their illegal administrative detention and to demand an end to this policy which violates international law.

Following are the names of the 41 detainees who received administrative detention orders:

Names of prisoners City Sentence length
Mahmoud Fasfous Hebron Four months
‘Abdullah Sha‘ban Jenin Four months
Amir Shammas Hebron Four months
Nour Dudin Hebron Four months
Bajes Swaiti Hebron Four months
Raed al-‘Amla Hebron Six months
Murad Shqaiqat Jenin Four months
Mustafa Braija Bethlehem Six months
Muhammad al-Habal Tubas Four months
Ahmad al-Qiq Hebron Three months
Hasan Shihada Abu Dis Four months
Tareq Hamed Ramallah Four months
Suhaib Jidan Ramallah Four months
Ayman Za‘aqiq Hebron Six months
Nour Jaffal Abu Dis Four months
Nedal al-Boum Nablus Six months
Muhammad Abu Ras Hebron Six months
Sa‘id al-‘Asafra Hebron Five months
Sufian al-Wahaddin Hebron Four months
Fawzi Talahma Hebron Six months
Four months Hebron ‘Issa ‘Awawda
Six months Hebron Bashar Da‘na
Six months Hebron Anas Dweik
Six months Hebron Isma‘il Slaibi
Six months Hebron ‘Ala’ Za‘aqiq
Four months Hebron ‘Abdul-Qader Sharawna
Six months Qalqilya Nedal Jaber
Four months Hebron Munther Abu ‘Atwan
Four months Hebron Firas Masalama
Four months Nablus ‘Abdullah Bani Odeh
Three months Hebron Arqam Ahmaro
Four months Hebron Muhammad al-Khatib
Four months Ramallah ‘Imad Isma‘il
Four months Hebron Shaher Abu Ghalyoun
Four months Bethlehem Ahmad Huraimi
Two months Hebron Mustafa Shawer
Four months Ramallah Mahmoud ‘Ayyash
Four months Hebron As‘ad Imam
Four months Hebron Raed Sharbati
Five months Jerusalem Muhammad Abu Ghalya
Six months